My experience with Cronometer.

edited October 2018 in General Discussion

Good evening everyone.
This post is going to be a mish mash of my experience with Cronometer, and the praise, criticism and quirks that go along with that.

I have been using Cronometer for at least 10 months now. I do not track activity, I don't set goals in app, I literally just log what I have consumed. But this has been a really useful tool. After years of failing to gain weight, I was able to see the numbers, see I wasn't eating enough, make adjustments, get results, get enthusiastic, eat too much...and then I got to figure out how to lose weight.

All this with the most basic of features, and for that, much praise.

Of course it is not all smooth sailing. Very long load times still persist for me. More often on wifi networks vs mobile data. It is frustrating when I am hungry and my scale times out before Cronometer can load.

UI quirks.
Food item lists reorder themselves if you close a selection window. Frustrating.
Accidentally missed "Mark Day as Complete(What does it even do?)" and hit "Copy Previous Day". And your Data is scrambled. Really needs a confirmation popup before that action happens.

Changing time frame for trends is Gold locked, if you want to change it to a greater range. The default is 3 months, I checked out 8 weeks, couldn't go back to 3 months. So I tested each step. Now I am stuck at 7 days. Was a really unpleasant way to find out the feature wasn't allowed. And now I can't show you my accidental "Copy Previous Day" spikes!

Cronometer is a great program. The basic features have served me well. And they would serve anyone well that wanted to make changes to their habit and their bodies. The quirks are hurting the experience though.

Thank you for the program, thank you for reading.

All the best.
Steven.

Just for clarity - these experiences are from the app on a Samsung Galaxy J5Pro phone.

Comments

• Hi @Steven ,