Mental Health Transformations/Changes - What's Your Story?

As a mental health professional, I'd love to hear the stories about how changing your relationship with food has affected your mental health (for good or bad).
Please tell us some of your reasons for starting on a different path, how your relating to food has changed, and what impacts it has had on your mental health.
Looking forward to hearing what you have to say!
IS

Comments

• From a large family of slim kids, I was the fat girl in the family, and have carried that self image and lived up to the term all my life. Always 25-30 lbs overweight though healthy and active.

I began reading about longevity and CRON, and found Cronometer about 7 years ago, and have always done well holding myself accountable to logging in diet and exercise. My PT calls this putting your health.

Last few years, hand arthritis left me feeling useless and depressed. I started walking to blow off steam. Low and behold, when they weighed me before surgery last year, I had dropped 20 lbs without realizing it, just eating right and walking.

So I found something positive in the midst of the hand problems. I could take ownership of my health and body, and become fit. Back on board with Cronometer, walking and tracking my foods.

Today, I am content with myself, in a healthy weight and fitness range, and optimistic about the future.

I

• I have gained and lost up to forty kilos several times in the past decade. The past three years I have been stuck at my upper end but past week on Keto Vegan and I feel full of energy and optimism. I AM BACK on know track and know I will lose it and get back to my OLD SELF (but the new improved version). Week 1 and I am 4 kilos down!