Options

(Liquid) Calories, how much is really used by the body?

Hi guys,

I've been thinking a lot about the actual amount of calories absorbed and used by the body.

Now, I know that foods low in calories also sometimes create a negative calorie balance, because they burn more to be processed than they actually give. But apart from this, how much does get lost on the way in digestion?
Do the 77cals of a small apple really get into the system completely?

Thank you!

Comments

• Options

Interesting question... I am no expert on this, but will share my thoughts.

Wouldn't the calories burned by your body in order to digest food be included in the "Basal Metabolic Rate"? So for example, if a low-cal food contained 10 kcal but took 20 kcal to digest, it would be a net -10 kcal. CM is taking care of this by balancing your food diary entry against the "burned" calories from activity + BMR.

I've heard the same as you about negative calorie balance foods :), so I did a quick search out of curiosity. This article from the BBC came up, which says while theoretically possible, there are in actuality no "negative calorie" foods: http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-21723312
    It gives an example of celery, often touted as a negative calorie food, which is still positive calories. Their math: 10 kcal for celery (minus) only 2 kcal for digestion (equals) positive 8 kcal.

As for absorption efficiency, I have no idea, but it would have to be close to 100% - otherwise all of CM's math would be incorrect! Right? :/ If not, maybe the kcal content quoted for food is what we absorb, rather than the true caloric value?

American living abroad in Norway.
    Why Cronometer? To promote good health through correct nutrients and sufficient calories.
    Dietary Restrictions: Gluten-free & limiting dairy/sugar until current health issues are better understood.

• Options

Hello!