Protein weights

Hi all,

I am a newbie to nutrition. So, you know how they say get so many grams of protein? Do they mean weigh out a piece of protein raw or cooked?

What about when I take that piece of now cooked protein and enter it into Cronometer it ends up being less protein than it weighs.

Which weight do I use for calculating my goal of so many grams of protein per lean mass?

Thanks

Comments

• edited August 2019

What do you call a "piece of protein"? You probably know this but Every food has proteins in it and others stuffs(carbs, fats, water, minerals etc) so apples or eggs or pasta or any other food has proteins in it.

Raw or cooked is same when it come to protein itself (like protein powder) or most food that you can eat raw(like fruits). after raw eggs will have protease inhibitors for instance (and bacterias like salmonella etc) that will hinder the absorbtion of its proteins so some food need to be cooked obviously.

Humans need between 0.4g and 0.8g of proteins per kg (not pound) of rather lean bodyweight (like 15% body fat), if you consistently lift weight to build muscle it is more between 1.2g and 1.8g per kg. Beyond that it is just additional calories. Best way to get your proteins is from plants, whole (not deprived of fibers, minerals etc) preferentially.

Humans, even athlete, will not lack proteins if they eat enough calories and do not eat too much refine fat(oil, butter etc) or refine carbs (sugar, soda). Because proteins is everywhere in great quantity unlike other nutrients like omega3, fibers, few vitamins/minerals/phytonutrients.

I do not know if I helped you well but I'm sure other will compensate for it 😉

• Thank you 123Ace for your answer. Just to clarify, my question is about meat, of the animal variety. 😀.

Suppose I have a piece of filet mignon - raw it’s 120g, cooked it’s 100g and when I add it to my food diary I end up with 30.7g of protein. My question is which number am to use ? Thanks

• edited August 2019