Options

Junk food consumption during pandemic

Since the start of the pandemic, have you reduced/eliminated, maintained, or increased the junk food in your diet?

Junk food consumption during pandemic 4 votes

I've reduced or eliminated the junk food in my diet.
25% 1 vote
I've maintained about the same amount of junk food in my diet.
25% 1 vote
I've increased the junk food in my diet.
25% 1 vote
I was already avoiding all junk food before the pandemic and have continued avoiding it ever since.
25% 1 vote

Comments

• Options

I've been avoiding all junk foods since the spring of 2020. Yes, I even skipped the holiday treats. Unhealthy foods weaken the immune system and promote inflammation. This is a double-whammy - reducing your body's ability to fight off the coronavirus AND more risk of the inflammation that leads to the deadly cytokine/bradykinin storm behind the severe cases.

At the same time, I've been doubling down on healthy superfoods. I now treat probiotics as an essential food group, much like fruits, vegetables, or whole grains. I've increased the quantity and variety of fruits and vegetables in my diet, especially in winter.

Although I've never had any reason to be concerned about my weight or my figure (because I've always been thinner than most other people), I've found that my all-healthy-food diet enhances summer weight loss AND reduces winter weight gain. In spite of my winter weight gain, I'm over 20 pounds lighter now than I was 2 years ago.