Options

Calories Burned discrepancy

Hello! I’m new to Cronometer and apologies if this has been asked but I can’t find it…

in my diary, the middle circle currently says I have burned 2334 kcal. But then in the caloric balance circle, it says that I have only burned 1862 kcal. This is a huge discrepancy, and it’s telling me I’m over my calorie intake for the day, when I was so careful not to eat more than my daily allowance.

Help? I see this also on completed days - the calories burned numbers never match and I am mystified.

Comments

• Options

My experience:

Current age 55; 190lbs; daily calorie burn at sedentary = ~2000 per the app; additional exercise per day = 800-1000kcal; my daily logging is ruthlessly honest in terms of measurement - everything by weight or volume, by brand where available.

I have been negative 700-1000 calories per day for 8 weeks per the app. Have not looked at a scale (de-motivational in my opinion). Checked scale today: 2lbs lost. Now, in fairness, I am working a body recompositioning program - build muscle while burning fat. My clothes are definitely looser; I have increased strength as measured by max lift by +60% in that time through all muscle groups and can see the musculature difference. Based on available research (including an intake of 200g daily protein), I should have gained max 4lbs of muscle in that eight weeks. I wouldn’t doubt it based on musculature. But, with my daily calorie deficit, I would expect to be down roughly 12 pounds of fat. So net, I should be down 8 pounds as opposed 2 pounds. To estimate daily exercise calories burned, I use available calculators on the Internet. I understand that they may not be the most accurate; however, if you do the math, it would indicate that there is a 700 cal per day miscalculation.