Options

Jeff's Tip of the Day

Who am I? Nobody special, really. I'm not a doctor, nutritionist, trainer or athlete. Far from it. I'm just a guy in my mid 50's trying to kick a lifetime habit of obesity. I'm now 14 weeks into Mounjaro, almost 50 Lbs lighter, and for the first time I feel as though I might actually have a chance at maintaining a permanent weight loss.

I thought I'd share here some of my thoughts on what has been working (and not working) for me, and maybe get some feedback from others on their own experiences. Feel free to chime in!

Comments

• Options

In the Beginning
    My Doctor has been recommending weight loss for ages, and over the years I've tried lots of things. Atkins was successful for 3-4 months, until I got to the point where I was ready to slit my own throat for a slice of bread. The Noom app was effective for about 4-5 months, and I actually made some significant permanent lifestyle changes, like eating more whole foods, eliminating a lot of junk food, and I actually enjoy eating a salad for lunch now-a-days. Unfortunately I eventually plateaued after loosing about 45 pounds, and simply could not maintain the weight loss without seriously reducing my calories intake (like below 1000 calories a day!) Later discussions with my doctor determined that my weight loss triggered a reduction in metabolism, which is not uncommon, and I learned I should have incorporated strength training to build muscle to counteract the reduction in metabolism.
    What's New