How can I use Cronometer as a meal-planner?

Can someone advise me? As it stands, Cronometer seems to be a diary, not a planner. And that was great when I was a beginner, but as I've worked on my nutrition, I find I need the ability to plan. Currently Cronometer it lets me enter my food and it tells me what the nutritional content is. For planning, it would be SUPER helpful to allow me to enter a nutrient and get a filter-able list of foods that will provide a descending amount of that nutrient. Currently I find I have to do a ton of searching outside of your app in order to plan a healthy day's food intake that matches my dietary choices, preferences and restrictions. I would much rather get the job done inside the app. The oracle isn't an effective planning solution, because the Oracle can't be filtered to my dietary restrictions -- I am eating whole foods, never a "meal" or a "dish" prepared by a company, so a large percentage of the Oracle's responses are useless to me. Help!

Comments

• @brinkie

Not sure if it would help you but what I suggest clients do (and what I do in my own practice) is spend time putting together custom meals and snacks that I label based on their nutrient profile (e.g. 20 g protein oatmeal). Not only does this save me time but it helps me to fill in any nutrient gaps missing from the upcoming week.

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• edited November 2020

The Oracle allows you to "Search Categories". You can filter out prepared meals. ;)

• On the web version of the app, you can go Foods --> Ask The Oracle and search for a particular nutrient, asking the system to rank it by most per gram, or most per kCal. You can include or exclude certain food categories.