Options

Amino Skepticism & Weightlifting

Hi everyone,

I’m new to weightlifting and want to take advantage of my increased muscle building capacity as well as have optimum recovery between sessions. Ethically I’m vegan and used to only get ~20g protein per day (not enough). I found I feel better when I get at least 60 when not training, but now that I’m training I don’t know how much I actually need of gross protein vs. amino acids.

What I mean is that many vegetables and plant foods fill up my amino acid needs without adding significantly to overall protein & I don’t understand if I really need to eat this much protein if I hit aminos.

Where do the amino acid recommendations come from? Would they change with resistance training/activity increase? Does protein help exercise recovery (weightlifting) or just carbs?

For reference- I’m a small person so at maintenance if I aim for 1g/lb LBM I end up consuming ~40% calories from protein & 40% carbs so I’m not sure if that’s maximizing recovery...

Thanks for any reading advice or responses. (& I’m comfortable reading research if anyone has any)

-Posi

Comments

• Options

Carbohydrates fuel your muscles with glycogen and give you energy. I’m sure you have heard you can learn to burn fat, also true but it’s less efficient for most according to the literature in edurance athletes. Being able to burn fat is best. Some strategies are varying working out fasted (no carbs night before, no breakfast before workout) alternating with good carb breakfast before workout. (Or whatever meal comes before workout).