Phytosterols/Xenosterols

@Susan_RD_101

Hi Susan,

I would like to get your take concerning the controversy surrounding supplementation ( or food fortification) with phytosterols, viz., the German Cardiac Society vs the European Society of Cardiology/European Atherosclerosis Society.

I am here concerned specifically about atherogenicity of xenosterols.

Please refer to the good discussion by Makhmudova et al., 2021 in Current Atherosclerosis Reports (PubMed) https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8410723/

Thank you Susan

Mike

Comments

• @mike

Thanks for sharing with me! My first disclaimer is that I'm not an expert in CVD so can't speak authoritatively on the topic. That said, I am skeptical of the link you shared simply because it's a narrative review vs. an actual meta-analysis or systematic review. Studies of the latter variety are more rigorous and considered a high level of scientific evidence.

What we know about plant sterols is that they seem to be a critical part of the "Portfolio Eating Pattern", which is a predominantly plant-based diet emphasizing almonds/nuts, soy protein, and soluble fibre.

Foods that contain added plant sterols include margarine, OJ, and yogurt; I take issues with the use of these foods because a) they aren't health promoting and b) they aren't all ensuring good absorption. If plant sterols are supplemented, it should be through a quality supplement vs. food product.

I also considered the Canadian Cardiovascular Society's stance on plant sterols and they recommend it, citing "Strong Recommendation, High Quality Evidence"; this isn't a title used frivolous; it's based on a standard grading system.

My conclusion? Based on available data, plant sterols appear safe for consumption and have shown benefit in hypercholesterolemia. However, this doesn't mean the mass population should consume them. Also, this stance can change with increasing high quality data.

Hope this helps? ;)

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD