Nighttime foot/calf cramps anyone?

So, I've been eating a 'rigorous' Keto diet for 2 months now. In the last month WOW do I have those nighttime foot and calf cramps 1-3 times EVERY night, having to jump out of bed to relieve them!!! I've researched and made sure my Magnesium is about 80% of what I'm supposed to have, Sodium intake is 100%. I also take a Potassium supplement as well as a Calcium/Vit D/Vit K supplement, although I can't seem to get those levels up very far. Daily walking/exercise or lack of doesn't seem to make a difference. I would love to hear what others who've experienced this are doing/have done.

Best Answers

• Answer ✓

My Mother In Law swears by having a magnet in her bed for this! She keeps it under her pillow and puts it on her leg whenever they start to cramp during the night.

• Answer ✓

WOW - CRAZY but I'm gonna do it! Remedies from a generation or so back have a lot of credence!! Sweet of you to share. Thanx.

• Answer ✓

I've had some luck with using a liquid magnesium in a roll-on. I roll it on my legs and feet at night if I've done some strenuous exercising, seems to help... I use an Ayurvedic product, if that's not enough I add Hyland's Nighttime Leg Cramp homeopathic tabs.

• Answer ✓

I mix up magnesium citrate with water and add a dash of salt and drink that before bed. (You can receive some free sample to try from NaturalCalm.ca)

• Answer ✓

If you've lowered carbs and eliminated processed food, you might find you need salt, magnesium and potassium. I follow the recommendations of a FB group Ketogenic Diet Science & Support and I've increased my RDA limits to their recommendations. It's your call, if you are doing a LCHF/keto way of eating.

• Answer ✓