Nighttime leg/calf cramps

So, I've been eating a 'rigorous' Keto diet for 2 months now. In the last month WOW do I have those NIGHTTIME FOOT/CALF CRAMPS 1-3 times EVERY night, having to jump out of bed to relieve them!!! I've researched and made sure my Magnesium is about 80% of what I'm supposed to have, Sodium intake is 100%. I also take a Potassium supplement as well as a Calcium/Vit D/Vit K supplement, although I can't seem to get those levels up very far. Daily walking/exercise or lack of doesn't seem to make a difference. I would love to hear what others who've experienced this are doing/have done, and of course the Expert's thoughts.

Comments

• I would aim for 100% of your requirement of magnesium and consider supplementing with it as well at a max dose of 350 mg.

If the cramping doesn't go away, I would suggest speaking with your MD.

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Since Dr. Mercola recommends use of the Cron-o-meter App I guess its OK to refer to something that helped me with the horrible leg cramp issue. In "Fat For Fuel" (p. 170) "Many new studies show that Fit K2 (as MK-7) will radically reduce nighttime muscle cramps, so it is best to take the K2 before bedtime."
    Tried it and it works! As another assist, I drink it down with Smart Water that has calcium, magnesium, and potassium.

• Hi there :) I'm going to look into that vitamin K2 info thanks. I have found for me that in general staying high fats, keto template AND cutting way back in alcohol have helped the most. Drinking less, increases better sleeping and with that less cramps at night. Also, pulling back a little in exercise. Too much walking or too long of a hike always guarantees me sore muscles then cramps at night. Fatigue for me is a big precursor of nighttime leg issues.