Team Intro: Karen Stark

Hello everyone!

I am the resident Nutrition Scientist here at Cronometer. I have a Master's degree in Nutrition and spent my time in a research lab studying folate, choline, vitamin B12 and fats. When I wasn't behind the lab bench, I assisted teaching nutrition classes on a variety of topics. I am here to help identify the foods with the best nutrient profiles to use in your food diaries. I also review new foods you have submitted and enter them into our food database.

Are you curious why there are no omega-3s listed in your flax seeds? Wondering where the trans fats in oil come from? Have another nutrition question? Lettuce taco 'bout it! If you can't find the food you are looking for, I will get to the root of the problem. With my six years of research and teaching experience I am here to bring you all the science-y details hidden in the nutrients in your food.

When I'm not fact-checking nutrition labels, you can find me trying new recipes in the kitchen, making terrible puns, or outside exploring the mountains.

Karen Stark
cronometer.com
As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

Karen Stark
cronometer.com

Comments

• Hello Karen, Great job! I love using chronometer. I have some questions about creating new foods, so I will be posting under New Discussions. See you there;-)

• edited September 2017

@kkelly
    Hello Karen,
    I love your database and the option to design one's own foods :smiley:
    YeZ! Lettuce taco 'bout it! Where does the trans fat in the flax seed oil come from, please? I recognized that right away and had no clue there was trans in ...
    Pleeeease, pretty please :blush: ?!?!?!!???
    Yvonne

• I'm glad you asked!

Trans fats can be found in plant foods in very small amounts, either naturally occurring or through heat processing when making the oil.