Dandelions

My aquaponic buddies are making fun of me for planting weeds in the growbed.
There is so much Vitamin K in dandelion greens that it seems too good to be true; way more than any other greens I normally eat. A few leaves are the equivalent of a whole bowl or Romaine.
Plus the flowers and roots are edible although I haven't stumbled across the numbers for them yet.

"Eat food, not too much, mostly plants." Michael Pollan

Comments

• We used to make salad from the leaves when I was a wee lad. I liked mine with egg yolk at the time.

Pillage, then burn.

• But is it good so much Vitamin K if its function is to coagulate the blood ?

I apologise for my misspellings, as English is not my native language.

• Good point Marus. I'm no expert but I'd say if your Doc has advised restriction of the likes of kale and spinach, then you might ought pass on dandelions too.

Moderation is a difficult ideal around ice cream and bourbon. So far though, it hasn't been a problem with greens. But that's just me.

:)

"Eat food, not too much, mostly plants." Michael Pollan

• @Marus

There's no concern re: high vitamin K intakes unless someone has been placed on warfarin. For anyone taking this type of medication, it's important to aim for a consistent intake of vitamin K day-by-day.

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Old Hobo....you will have the last laugh. Dandelion greens are a super green!

• the best is to mix and match (romaine/dandelion)...then you get the high vitamin A of the romaine, and the high vitamin k of the dandelions...perfectly covers your 'vegetables'. I'd recommend 4-5 seeded raw jalapeno's too for your fruits also.

And yes my buddy always poked fun at me when i went to his place to pull his weeds...