Options

Hwo do I determine the protein, fat, carb levels if I'm whole food plant based?

I'm surprised there isn't a vegan diet category. Not sure whaty protein, fat, carb ratio should be.

Answers

• Options

I would use "Fixed Targets".

• Options

i would say just figure out how to get your Vitamins, Minerals, Amino Acids, and Lipids...See how it works out?

I am an amateur. I've been using CRON-O-Meter for 10 years and counting, still learning.....

• Options

Agree with the above! There is no specific ratio for someone following a vegan diet. In practice, vegans that I work with typically eat 50-60% CHO, ~15% protein, and the remainder coming from fat.

My focus would be on meeting targets for nutrients and protein and let the macros fall where they do. :)

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Options

I am more surprised by the fact that there is no clear way to select vegan foods. Even in the vegetable-based food categories all sort of non-vegan stuff pops up...

• Options

I would just make sure to eat a little more than the official RDA for protein which is 0.8 g/kg/d, also the default quantity in cronometer.
    0.9 to 1.1 g/kg/d seems to be a more cautious intake for vegans (source: Davis-Vesanto, Becoming Vegan, 2014).
    More may be needed if practicing strength sports, although only some regular bodybuilders would arguably need above 100 grams of vegan protein per day (sources: various interviews from pro vegan bodybuilders Delgado and Washington).
    bottom line: if vegan, better to set in protein a custom amount higher than the omnivorous RDA.