Why do low-carb dieters fail in the long-term?

This video is pretty convincing that they do fail to reach or maintain adequate fitness:

However, I don't quite understand the causes. Why do they fail where high-carb dieters do not?

(Is this the right subforum to post this question?)

Comments

• @maxb

I've been working in the field of weight management for about 8 years now and what I can say on the topic is that the best diet is the one that you can follow for the rest of your life.

When it comes down to it, weight loss happens because we are burning more calories than we are consuming. At some point, we plateau because we can no longer cut-back/burn more calories (plus, metabolism tends to decrease with weight loss).

What I've noticed in practice is that low-carb followers lose +++ weight off the start (a combination of weight and water). However, following this initial weight loss, things start to plateau and many people get frustrated that the effort isn't worth the outcome.

In addition, it can be difficult to attend social events as a low-carb eater, since it triggers feelings of deprivation.

Hope this provides some additional insight!

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• @maxb

I'm not a low carb advocate. In fact, I think low carb diets can be uniquely dangerous for a number of reasons. However, low carb diets are not really obesogenic diets. In the literature, carbohydrate-restriction generally produces more reliable reductions in calorie intake in free-living humans when compared to most other diets. This video is basically just propaganda, and it's no way to conduct any sort of proper comparative analysis.