Fitbit Activity double counted

edited February 2020 in Bug Reports

Hi everyone. I checked around the site to make sure this specific issue has not been mentioned before and did not see it. Having said that, I am totally new to this service so it is totally possible that I missed it. I apologize if that is the case.

I worked out for ~40 minutes this morning so my fitbit recorded that as a 40 minute workout. This was tracked both as exercise and "active minutes." My fitbit also counted some other activity today as active just due to my heart rate. That additional time raised my active minutes to 46.

I connected my fitbit to my cronometer account when I signed up today. When I updated cronometer, it pulled in the 40 minutes workout and the 46 active minutes. So it double counted my workout since the workout was included in the active minutes. Is there any way to avoid this? Or is this a bug?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Hi @tacomaccountant there was a bug with this which we have since resolved. The calories should match at least by the end of the day. Apparently Fitbit has made a change to something in their software as well, so make sure you double check that it is showing correctly in your fitbit software as well! If you are still seeing an issue, would you mind sending along some screenshots of the discrepancy to support@cronometer.com ? Thanks! :)

Hilary
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Thanks for the quick reply! I will reenable the Fitbit tracking and see if it trues up by the end of the day.

• Mine is doing exactly the same thing. Is there a remedy.

• I tried again and am still having the issue. It isn't a huge deal to me as I just eat to a certain amount of calories every day and then monitor my weight to make changes. I do think it should probably be fixed though.