Options

How much protein should I be getting?

My protein intake target shows about 105 g. I am wondering if this is correct or am I incorrectly interpreting the abbreviations. I am having a hard time achieving that much protein daily. I do not eat a lot of meat, however I am making sure to eat protein rich foods. RDA states the recommended amount is around 46 g. Am I missing something? I am 36 year old female wishing to maintain my weight. Thank you for any advice. I am new to this app and new to nutrition focused eating. Images attached...

Best Answers

• Options

@Chelsea777

Minimum protein for non-active, non-vegan individuals is 0.8 g per kg of healthy body weight. If you are active or following a plant-based diet, I'd aim for 1 g per kg per day (vegan) or at least 1.2 - 1.5 g per kg per day (active individuals). Higher protein is also beneficial when it comes to weight loss as it tends to be satiating.

Hope this helps!

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Options
    Answer ✓

My guess is that the plant based diet protein requirement is adjusted upward to make up for the chance that protein consumed may be lacking in some essential amino acids. If you are monitoring your intake of each essential amino acid, you probably don't need to adjust the total protein value upward.

Answers

• Options

Hi Chelsea77,

There are a couple of different ways of looking at protein recommendations.

The RDA of 0.8 g/kg body weight. This is the minimum amount estimated to meet most people's needs for replacing body protein that is lost each day. You can use this value in your protein target by changing your macronutrient targets to Fixed Values in the Macronutrient Target settings. This can help you focus on meeting your minimum target.