Resolution and accuracy of calorie deficit over shorter timeframes

Hello from Bill the Newbie,

I am a first time user, 6 days of data in Crono. I have been losing weight for approx 12 months, am slowing down now. Daily weights show an overall downward trend but jiggle around a bit.

To understand the fluctuations, for several days I weighed myself after wakeup, after exercise, after meals and before bed in order to see a daily weight variation profile.

Some days I don't lose anything at all and even gain some - this seems at odds with my Crono data but am guessing that over longer time periods ( ie weeks & months) there is a better correlation between Crono Calorie Deficits and Real Life Weight Loss ............... is that correct ?

I started using Crono and the daily weight profile because I wanted to better understand what was happening with the reduction in weight loss as I approach target weight (81kg reduced from 95 12 months ago) and keeping the loss going is not as easy as it was a few months ago.

I have read that the body is unwilling to give up the last bit of fat and will be trying to retain it despite my long slow cardio workouts + daily pushups - weights - pullups - callisthenics etc. One tip I have read is to do more weight bearing exercise to build muscle which in turn will burn more fat through the day.

Is it possible to build muscle whilst simultaneously burning fat ? Or is one better off losing the fat first then focusing on weight bearing exercises instead of cardio ?

Gotta admit I can have a craving for chocolate now and then.

Bill

Comments

• edited July 2020

You've touched on a few points. I'm no expert, but I do have some experience.

• Daily weigh-ins
      A common rookie mistake. Daily weight fluctuation is normal. The average adult's weight fluctuates up to 5 or 6 pounds per day. It all comes down to what and when you eat, drink, exercise, and even sleep. Article