Plant vs whey protein

edited November 2017 in General Nutrition

Hi all,

I am an avid weight trainer. Over 2 decades consistently. So Whey protein powder is something I'm very familiar with to say the least. I've consumed at least 1,400 pounds of whey powder! 5lbs a month over 22 years. Sometimes I'd use a 5lber in as little as 3 weeks. So 1,400lbs is accurate.

Anyway,
I have made the choice after researching plant based proteins to give up whey in favor of both pea and brown rice proteins.

For one, I no longer drink Milk so why do I want to continue whey?
Also whey certainly does give bad gas and my goals are changing when it comes to nutrition.
Also, I do not want to continue taking the artificial sweeteners mixed into most whey powders. Something I never thought or frankly cared about when I was younger.

So does anyone have first hand experience with both? From what I've read if I take pea and rice they give you a solid profile of all essential amino found in whey.

Comments

• Hi @Pryme !

Thanks for your great question! I'm a vegan dietitian and have dabbled in body building, so can speak to your concern.

The concept of plant proteins being incomplete is a bit of a myth nowadays. Provided you are eating a balanced, plant-based diet and including several sources of protein-rich plants, you will easily accumulate your requirements for all essential amino acids throughout the day (Cronometer does a great job of letting you see this). Plus, your body does have an amino acid pool that it can draw from should you be slightly low on one or two days, so deficiency isn't a major concern.

Regarding protein powders, I'm partial to mixed grains and those containing hemp. I personally like Vega Sport Performance or Iron Vegan.

Best of luck!

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer