What do you use Cronometer for?

I’ve been using Cronometer for several years to track calories, weight, and specific nutrients. This is my favorite nutrient tracker by far. I’m surprised this subreddit isn’t more active, so I thought I’d try to start a conversation.

What do you use Cronometer for? What are your goals? What’s your diet like?

Comments

• I can answer as a dietitian...

I use Cronometer daily in my practice to help me analyze clients diets and show them where (and why) they are running into issues. We can also individualize their account, add in some custom recipes, and set goals to help them in-between appointments. I find that clients who track their food intake using Cronometer are more likely to reach their goals compared to clients who do not track their food intake.

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• TL;DR version - Accountability. Blood sugar control. Mostly carnivorous.

I use Cronometer primarily to hold myself accountable to maintaining my overall plan of keeping my blood sugar down. As a type 1 diabetic, I have found that my best control is done when I eat low carb/moderate protein/high fat consistently. I wouldnt necessarily say that I follow a keto diet, but its pretty close (probably too much protein). I dont test to see if Im in ketosis, because thats really not a concern of mine at the moment. Cronometer allows accountability for me in that I can see what it is Im eating and more easily evaluate areas where my blood sugar may be an issue or if I have some other issues going on.