Choline challenge

Any vegans out there (in here) getting adequate choline (along with everything else)? How, please???

I'm a 6 year vegan, new here, and shocked at what I am learning from my own diary...

Comments

• There's limited data in the db about choline, and also Biotin...Which is why i supplement for both..It does seem like beer is a known good source of choline though...lol

I am an amateur. I've been using CRON-O-Meter for 10 years and counting, still learning.....

• I have looked up choline sources from various supposedly reliable databases and see that I would need to eat about 6 cups of the highest ones (specific beans & greens, which is the mainstay of my diet) to reach the goal. I typically eat a cup of mixed beans and about 7 cups of mixed greens per day, but I am coming nowhere close.

• edited August 2018

l was just doing a quick search, and doesn't look like there's too many vegan options, apparently beef brains are a good source...lol, eggs also...

more searching refined to vegan foods, and shiitake mushrooms are good, cholla nuts, whatever that is, looks the best..Per calorie....looks like maybe you should investigate more mushrooms? just from a quick per calorie search on cron-o-meter...

it's a tough one for sure..Wheat germ seems like a good source also...

I am an amateur. I've been using CRON-O-Meter for 10 years and counting, still learning.....

• Yes, thank you. I've followed Dr. Fuhrman's recommendations, summarized as "Greens, Beans, Onions, Mushrooms, Berries, & Seeds" for years.

I hope to get this figured out soon, as I am reluctant to add even more supplements to my growing arsenal, best to get it from food if possible.

I think this could be of great value to the vegan community, especially those (like myself) with genetic issues with methylation (I am NO expert, just learning). This might be the new question, "Where do you get your choline?" :smiley: