Options

Recipe weight way off

Hello I love your app although my total recipe weight on many different ingredients is off in some cases by hundreds of grams, this throws off the servings and in whole the entire recipes Macros! Can you help

Comments

• Options

i usually just divide the total weight in cron-o-meter by the number of servings....and add the 1 serving option for the recipe.

seems to work for me.

I am an amateur. I've been using CRON-O-Meter for 10 years and counting, still learning.....

• Options

Yes same here but when off by a couple hundred it’s hard. Heavy cream was weighing 800g for a 1/2 cup 😳

• Options

heavy cream would be significant, enter in the weight not the volume? weight is most often going to be the best choice... not sure how 8floz could weigh 800g's though. that's more like 32oz's....or a quart...Did you weigh a 1/2 cup and your scale told you 800g's? i'd check your scale to make sure it's not reading something else besides grams then...i had a problem once where my scale was set to read dwt instead of grams...

I am an amateur. I've been using CRON-O-Meter for 10 years and counting, still learning.....

• Options

@Jgacnrep it sounds like you are potentially using a food with incorrect or missing data. Some of our nutrition listings for branded foods do not contain a gram-based weight, so using them in a weight-based recipe makes the recipe go a bit wonky. To get the most accurate data in recipes, try using NCCDB foods most often and ensure the listing you are using has a gram-based serving size. Check out this blog post for more info! https://cronometer.com/blog/6-tips-getting-nutrition-data/

Hilary
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Options