Eating less calories but still gaining weight?

Hello all. I started Cronometer 3 weeks ago after discussing weight loss with my doctor yet again. He knows I am a tech guy and thought I may like the challenge of this. He was right, I love logging everything but for some reason it is not working to lose weight. I weight and measure ever single thing as I am pretty OCD to see if this works. I know I am already eating better as I am learning more about foods and portions. I have it already set for -1 lb a week and when I do the 3 week nutrition report I average 768 more calories a day I can eat plus the 499 for the weight loss so that is an average of 1267 deficit a day! So this should mean if a lb of weight loss equals 3500 calories I should have loss 7.6 lbs but i have actually gained 2.8 lbs? I also have a scale that shows my muscle, water and fat that I weight on once a week at the same time and it is not muscle or water going up, it is fat. I am pretty confused why this is not work.

I am 47 male 6’5” 246.2#

Any ideas?

Thank you so much for any help provided!

Comments

• Hi @Ncbeast,

Sounds like your Doctor is pretty in tune with your needs; you are so lucky to have a healthcare professional who has taken into account your personal life and suggested you use a tech solution based on your lifestyle!
    Remember, Cronometer is to be seen as a tool to track consumption and all targets we have set by default are not for everyone. If you have different needs you are welcome to make the changes based on your healthcare professional's recommendation or personal preference. Weight loss is different for everyone and many factors contribute, so it may be worthwhile to reach out to your healthcare professional about this one.

Specifically, I would recommend checking your Activity Level settings, and BMR calculation to make sure they are correct for your needs.

Hilary
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs: