How do I decide on my daily targets?

Hello! I'm new to cronometer and having been entering my food consumption and exercise for a week. I enjoy seeing the reports and learning more about what I eat.

One question that comes to mind is what macro and micro targets I should be using to align with my goals. I'm mostly focused on maintaining my current weight and optimizing for longevity. I don't subscribe to any particular dietary school of thought other than eating real food. Do I need to consult with a professional nutritionist to set the macro and micro targets? Should I just go with what cronometer sets for me? Are there resources I should be geeking up on in the cronometer community?

Interested in any guidance you can offer.

Thanks

Best Answers

Answers

• Thanks Hilary. Sounds like I should consult with a healthcare professional if I want to customize the targets.

• @RickS - you can find a healthcare professional familiar with Cronometer by checking out the following link :smile:

https://cronometer.com/pro-directory/

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• I am similarly interested in longevity. There are research studies in animals and humans that suggest the life- and health-extending benefits of calorie restricted, low protein (especially animal protein), and intermittent fasting (or fasting mimicking) diets. There is no consensus among professionals with regards to macro or micro targets unfortunately. The Longevity Diet by Valter Longo is a good read (goes into details of the studies on low protein and fasting), as is The End of Alzheimer's by Dale Bredesen (discusses neural benefits of a ketogenic diet, among other things).