Lack of correlation between breath and blood ketone levels

edited January 2018 in General Discussion

Hi! I posted this question some time ago, and either it was not answered or I missed the answer, so let's go at it again:

I have noticed on several occasions that my Ketonix will flash green in the high range indicating the Keyton acetone (I believe). I have been led to believe that there was a strong correlation between the acetone ketones in your breath and the BHB ketones in your blood.

That does not seem to be the case with me. At least some of the time. This evening an hour after dinner my glucose was 116 and I got 7 flashes on the Ketonix. Curious as I have been relying on the ketonix a lot to save money, I did a blood test that indicated that BHB was at 0.3 mmn/L

I have a lot of ideas of what may be going on, most of them conjecture as I am not an expert in this area. So I ask you that read this post, to give me some ideas based upon what you know.

FWIW it would be nice if the graphing of these 2 biometrics was implemented better so that I could take a look and see what the data really says.

Thank in advance
Joe Tittiger - Seymour Missouri

Joe Tittiger
Seymour MO
joe ATT Tittiger DOTT com

Comments

• Hi Tittiger,

Thanks for your question. I'm going to direct it to @Frank , who is our resident keto expert. Unfortunately, I am not familiar with the products you are using so can't really comment, but it might be worth following up with the company.

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• edited January 2018

Thanks very much Susan. :)