Welcome to Ask An Expert!

Comments

• Hi I am new to this app. I have filled in all the info and without putting in any exercise it says calories burned 2036. How do I fix this

• Hi @Lakelady this number is likely reflecting your Bsal Metabolic Rate and general activity settings. To view these settings go to your Profile Tab and see the "Body Details" Section. You can learn more about setting up your profile here:
    https://cronometer.com/help/profile/#overview
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E09SRRMErzE&t=183s&index=24&list=PLwVXgmubuwgJrxhZXqfs-Wv4tSCwUyeIV

Hilary
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Hi my wight is 71 22 kg fat and 28 kg muscles . So i want to gain more muscle mass . If ill eat more than my cal healthy food does my fitness will be good for building muscles and about fat ill gain how many kg if i eat 500 more than my cal burn

• @akalbedwi

Thanks for your question!

It's important to remember that we can't build lean muscle or "bulk up" simply by eating more calories; there needs to be a muscle building resistance training program that goes along with the extra calories. Also, I always tell athletes that we can either bulk or get lean right now, we can't do both at the same time.

When we build muscle, we inherently accumulate additional fat tissue. To combat this, most athletes will have a "bulking season" and a "leaning out season".

Having a calorie surplus of 500 calories per day will theoretically help you to gain ~1 lb per week.

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com