Keto - any helpful hints for hitting fat and not going over on protein?

I'm new to cronometer and fairly new to keto. I selected the moderate keto setting and my targets are 47 g of protein and 150 g of fat. Carbs are not an issue for me, I've been paleo/primal for a few years. I do the normal stuff - butter, olive oil, avocados - but have not been coming close to my fat macro. On the flip side, my normal day consists of things like eggs, tuna, red meat. I'm finding that this is way too much protein. I had 6 oz. of venison last night for dinner and that alone went over.

Maybe my macro settings aren't correct? I came here after using another tracking product for years. I like this one much better, but need to get my settings dialed in. If anyone can offer some hints/guidance I'd appreciate it! Thanks.

Best Answers

• edited May 2018 Answer ✓

OK, to lose weight and do it right, your macro should be 97 gr protein, 87 gr fat and 24 gr nett carbs. You need to burn fat off your body, not from your food. You are so low on protein you will be using muscle instead of fat with the macro you have now! Your current 47 gr of protein fit a 4 foot lady!

• Answer ✓

This is a common problem with this app, it uses kg instead of lbs to determine your protein macros with keto. Do like ketoservices says and calculate it yourself. 0.8-1.0g protein per pound of lean body weight.

Support is no help, they state their "experts" have kg instead of lbs. I'm guessing someone read a typo, as there is nothing to back it up in any literature about "medical keto" using such drastically low protein intakes.

• Answer ✓

Remember the calculation is for what is estimated to by your lean body mass-not your total weight.

"I've never considered excessive sanity a virtue" Mike Uris, San Antonio Express-News, 2002

Answers

• that macro will kill you. how tall are you?

• I am female, 5'5", 135 lbs.