Options

Was surprised by this

Have been tracking with Cronometer for a while now and have been seeing pretty steady weight loss. Just for giggles I looked at the last 4 week. Calories say I have a deficit of ~1000 calories per day (I track all food and activity comes from my Garmin). If thats true, then 28x1000 = 28000 calories over that time. 28000/3500 means I should have lost 8.0 lbs. Morning nude weight on Jan 1 = 235.6. Morning nude weight on Feb 1 = 227 which is 8.6# lower. Trend was ~linear throughout the 11 measurements I took in Jan. I am a scientist by trade so used to dealing with numbers and prediction, but I guess I was surprised to see it match up so well. I am still a little skeptical of how well it worked out, but I think it at least means I am tracking my calories in pretty well (not over or under counting) and tracking my activity pretty well (also over or under counting).

Comments

• Options

That's so interesting @jamorgn3777 ! I love a good deep-dive into the data :)

Weight loss is not always quite so predictable due to many factors besides calorie deficit (hydration status, bowel movements, our individual physiology and response to the types of foods we are eating, etc.). It's neat to see it all put together in your trends over time.

Congrats on your progress!

Karen Stark
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• Options