Search diary entries for food

Comments

• You can tell when a dev team doesnt use their own product. They don't understand the things that are most important.

Their goal is to get new members, not to service the needs of all of the people who have already paid.

• Yes, please add this function!

• @CalorieGuru Yeah, I think that is the point. The product manager probably don't use it, that's why he doesn't understand the needs of the customers. Too bad.

• edited April 2021

Maybe the priorities are completely different and we just don't get it? I see that the most active thread in the Beta forum is about the recipe importer. None of the bugs as reported as a beta tester, has even received an acknowledgement from @Aaron or @BrendanB / @brendanbenson1.

As a software engineer, I can tell that such a complex feature is hard to implement, and prone to all sorts of errors. As a Cronometer user, I have trouble seeing it utility, vs. the development effort, number of users who'd use it, and frequency of use.

In my opinion, development resources would be far better invested in more pressing issues (bugs, major missing features) that affect all Cronometer customers all the time.

• @Lector Apparently the priorities are different, otherwise this feature would have been implemented a long time ago.

I am also a software developer and can't confirm, that it is a difficult feature (in general) :-) Of course, I have no clue, how the software architecture looks like, so maybe for them it is actually difficult.

Of course, we don't know how actually ALL customers think about this. Maybe this feature is actually not so super important for most of the users here. Everyone can of course speak only for himself. For me personally, this features is super important, to make sense of all of my data, I am collecting through a lot of third party services and gadgets.

In the end, we cannot force any change here. We have to wait and see, what will be eventually implemented over time.