after 8:00 pm eating

i work as an accountant and i can work up to 14 hours a day. my biggest challenge is eating healthy at night. dense protein like a steak is too much to stomach at that time of night. sadly, my go to has been a bowl of pasta at 8 or 9:00PM. thus my weight can swing 50 pounds a year - up 25 pounds during tax season and then down 25 pounds after. looking to avoid that and just keep it off.

Comments

• I would recommend just stop eating at that time if a meal with protein that you won't overeat is too much for you to digest at night. Bring prepared meals with you on the job so that you can eat a balanced diet with protein throughout the day, and if you are still hungry near night time, eat some fruit or vegetables instead of the pasta so that you get full easier and don't overeat.

• @dougm

The way we eat at night can often be linked to how we eat earlier in the day. Our bodies like to eat a certain volume of food, as well as calorie range. If we're in a deficit by the time night rolls around, our brains starting send signals to eat.

If someone is stressed and tired, food choices tend to be what's readily available and most-convenient.

I'd suggest meal prepping some options that you can store in your freezer for when you get home for work. Soups, stews, and chilis work great. Also, be sure to have enough food earlier in the day so your hunger isn't overwhelming at night.

Kind regards,

Susan Macfarlane, MScA, RD
    Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
    cronometer.com
    As always, any and all postings here are covered by our T&Cs:
    https://forums.cronometer.com/discussion/27/governing-terms-and-disclaimer

• @Susan_RD_101
    thank you. its rather frustrating burning it all off and then putting it all back on for 30 years.

• edited July 2021